Freebie from Chegg…

So I have to confess, I started college about 25 years later than most of my peers. After years of living with the regret, I realized it was a regret I could fix, and I enrolled at the local community college. Many of my fellow students are actually younger than my own children. This is okay with me. I am glad to be there, and I am also glad they are there. I hope they realize how lucky they are to have the internet!

Last semester I was enthusiastically sharing with my daughter about a project I was working on. She flat out told me that if I were in her class, she would hate me. I retorted that I was in school to make A’s, not friends. Yes, I am an overachiever. I get started early. I double check my assignments. I submit extra credit. I work hard. I am a 4.0 student. And I am proud of that! It’s taken me a long time to land in a college classroom, so I try not to take it for granted.

Because I’m actually paying for this and not my parents, I try to save money by renting my textbooks from Chegg. This week one of my books arrived two weeks early (of course). Imagine my surprise when I found a complimentary can of Red Bull along with the book! I’m just not sure how I feel about this. Have you ever had a Red Bull?


Last semester I took an evening Lit class from 7-10pm. Yep, that’s a 3 hour class after a full day of work, listening and talking about literature. Can you say, yes I’ll have a double espresso? One evening I was pushing it for time and couldn’t stop for coffee. But lo, there was a Red Bull in the frig that my college student had left behind. Cool! So I drank it on the way, saving myself a few minutes.

I was awake alright, for hours. I think it was after 1am before I crashed. The next morning was literally painful. I felt hungover. It was awful. And what did I want to cure my ill? Another Red Bull. I did not have another one, so for that I am grateful. The addictive cycle couldn’t get a good start. But truly, it’s genius for them to bubble wrap a free sample to someone renting college textbooks.

What is a better alternative than jacking up on sugar and caffeine to be productive and make it through our days? The Apostle Paul said it well in Corinthians that it was God’s grace that allowed him to work hard. I don’t know how much you know about Paul, but I don’t think I could keep up with him even on one of my best days. This is the guy who wrote most of the New Testament! And he didn’t have access to the internet or Red Bull back then….

The great thing is that even though I will work very hard to achieve A’s as the new school year approaches, I don’t have to earn God’s grace, it’s a gift. And neither do you, regardless of your GPA. Isn’t that great?

Thanks for reading….happy studying….
Sherri

Leave a Reply

