What to wear…

It’s that time of year again. School is about to start. That usually means a thorough evaluation of clothing and shoes, and maybe pencils and notebooks as well. For our family, we typically front load the wardrobe and pray that the only growth for the next few months is intellectual. Parents, do you feel me?

It was so much easier when they were young and didn’t care so dang much. And didn’t post a picture every day of their cutest outfit. My mantra is that no one cares what label it is and no one cares if you have worn it before. But it’s clearly irrelevant. Because now there is documentation of the wardrobe, so yes Mother (insert eye roll) everyone KNOWS that I’ve had no choice other than to wear the same outfit more than once! Gasp!

I’m being a bit dramatic. We shop the clearance rack. We shop at Goodwill. We will take hand me downs if you’re cleaning out a closet and think of us. On this year’s shopping occasion, I handed my high schooler an envelope with cash and said, “Here ya go, hope you can stretch it.” And she did. And she’s gainfully employed with few, wait, make that NO bills, so she can supplement her own style fund. And she is. And that’s ok.

It’s been said that clothes make the man (or woman?). I would agree with that. I have a few friends that are bachelors. They like to wear things that a married man could never wear. Shirts with holes or missing buttons or pants with a stain. I tell them to enjoy wearing that sort of stuff because it won’t happen if they ever snag a “Mrs”. This may also shed light on WHY they are still bachelors!?

Why do we care so much about what other people think? Don’t get me wrong, I have my days where I change my outfit eleven times before I leave. Eleanor Roosevelt said it best, “You wouldn’t worry so much about what others think of you if you realized how seldom they do.”  I think it still holds true, even though she said it long before the days of Instagram.

My zany friend Chris has a verse from Proverbs 31 tattooed on her forearm. It’s this chapter that most of us hate because the Proverbs 31 woman is so unbelievably perfect. It’s like she created some impossible standard we can never in a jillion years live up to. But this particular verse talks about being clothed with strength and dignity. I like that, and it’s somewhat realistic.


I think along with that it’s great to wear humility and kindness. A pleasant attitude. A soft heart for others. A smile that comes from knowing you are loved. This doesn’t come from a label, and probably not from the outlet mall. This comes from knowing God, and anything that is good about us, is only because of his great love working in us. And the best part about that? It’s a freebie. You can’t buy it, earn it, save for it, or wait for the super-clearance, blue-light, red-tag sale. It’s just there…for you and me….and I am so very grateful.

Thanks for reading…til next time!
Sherri
Leave a Reply

