Happy New Year!

It’s New Year’s Eve. And if you’re like me, you’re scratching your head and saying – how in the heck can it possibly be the end of 2014? I did not believe people when they told me that time goes faster as you get older. They were totally right.

As I approach the end of a very challenging year, I am actually pretty excited about 2015! I love new things. I am a great starter. I begin with the best of intentions – don’t we all? I am not very good at continuing. Or maintaining. It’s just not as exciting somehow. But I want to improve that.

This year I am not going to set out a bunch of resolutions of things that I can start and not finish. Even though I would be good at that. I am taking a different mind set with New Year’s this time.

I am going to build on the good things that are already in place. 

For example, last year I realized I had not been a very good sister or aunt. I live far away from all of my family, so that has been my lame excuse. Actions really do speak louder than words. I was so tired of my good intentions never panning into anything tangible. It’s really stupid for the people I love to not know how I feel about them.

I decided that I would at least know and acknowledge everyone’s birthdays. And I did! Each one received a card and a gift all year, most of them were early or on time even.

So this year, maybe I’ll send a card and/or a gift out of the blue to each of them. And now Kelsey is far away too, so I’m sure I’ll be on a first name basis with the folks at the post office.

Another thing I am going to do this year is practice yoga every day. I have a pretty full schedule for the next few months. So with that, I’ll need to do a lot of stress relief, and I may not make it to a class. But I have been going to yoga classes on and off for years. I know what to do! And I know how much better I feel when this is incorporated into my routine.

The third and final thing I will try to do is to be a little softer, a little gentler and a little kinder to everyone. Including myself. Grace is such a powerful concept and I have certainly had more than my share extended my way. It only seems right that I pass it along.

How are you feeling about the New Year? Got any great goals or resolutions or whatever you want to call them? What does 2015 hold for you? I’d love to know….

Thanks for reading…til next time!
Sherri

Leave a Reply

