One week down, fifteen to go.

The intent of my blog was to be reflective of my life and thoughts. Currently a great deal of that is revolving around school. The title to this post is a familiar phrase to college students everywhere as we count down another semester. Let’s do this!

I have reunited with Al – he is going to be such a prince this time. The instructor is slow and detailed in his explanations. This will be really helpful later but boring right now. I will take a little boring thank you. Especially after the failure of last semester. But hey, I already know 53% of the final!

In addition, I also enrolled in Financial Accounting and Microeconomics. After several hours of reading and 2 failed quizzes, I decided against 3 classes and self-torture. I dropped the online Micro class. 

Instant sigh of relief. Why did I think I had to push myself to do 3 classes anyway? With a full time job, and a child still at home (barely), can we say that 2 classes are already quite an accomplishment? Yes, I believe so. Just because I CAN do something, doesn’t mean I should.

Rather than doing homework, I spent my evening helping a friend who recently had major surgery. And tomorrow, instead of exclusively studying, I will also accomplish some domestic tasks and not be all totally stressed out over it.

Life is about finding your stride. Yes, there are seasons of busy-ness. There are circumstances that can throw us off our game and bring in more crazy than we like. There are times when I can flat out CREATE the insanity and then.. I have a great excuse to not do all the other things that I know I should do.

It was this realization today that inspired me to get off the crazy train I have been on.

Yes, I have goals. I want my degree. I want to do well in school. I want to do well at my job. I want to have time for my family and my friends. I want to have time to relax  and hit the beach. And read, and write! And until the cleaning fairy materializes, someone needs to tend to that around here.

Balance. Choices. Seasons. How to decide what’s important, and urgent, and maybe we start with figuring out what is not. 

Here’s a cool verse in the Message Translation… “But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do, what God is looking for in men and women. It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor, be compassionate and loyal in your love, And don’t take yourself too seriously— take God seriously.”
Micah 6:8


I had immediate peace in making that decision today. And I had a lovely, stress-free time in spending time with and helping my friend tonight. That, my friends, is the goal.

Thanks for reading…until next time,
Sherri
3 thoughts on “One week down, fifteen to go.

  1. Pingback: His name is Cal | sherri.in.srq

  2. Pingback: He brought me roses*… | sherri.in.srq

Leave a Reply

