Day One – Freedom begins now

Hi there! Welcome to my blog. It’s really for me, but I’m happy to share.

While waiting for my Algebra class to begin this evening, I stumbled across some info about a 31 day writing challenge for bloggers. Apparently I live under a rock because I am just now discovering this whole thing. And it starts today! And since it’s been going on for years now, the rest of the blogging world has known about this. They have probably been psyching themselves up, preparing and plotting their 31 days of whatever.

But not me. Nope, I am flying by the seat of my ever loving pants on this. I have dabbled with blogging for just over a year with no clear direction or plan. I just spent an hour remembering how to do anything at all in Photoshop so I could make a button. Clearly I did not remember much. But whatever. Here it goes.

This year I turned forty-seven. That’s a lot of syllables isn’t it? And candles too. The picture on my button is one that I took that night in June as I celebrated on my favorite beach. Impressive right? I was equally surprised.

At forty-seven there are some general expectations one may have of themselves and life. The thing is I am still trying to figure out much of it, and it’s really hard sometimes. 

I am learning that I often make it harder than it has to be.

So all the while I’m driving home from class tonight trying to think of what I’m going to write about for 31 straight days – “anything at all you love & can write about for 31 days”. Yikes! I can write about absolute nonsense I suppose. It made Theodor Seuss Geisel famous.

I am not concerned about getting famous. I am concerned with getting free. 

With both of my classes (Algebra and Accounting) overworking the left side of my brain, writing every day sounds like the perfect antidote. And freedom is a topic that I have working on in my personal life.

Freedom from things. Freedom INTO other things. Freedom to be me and to live in as much freedom as I can muster. 

Today, it’s the freedom to try something I’ve never done before. Writing every single day for 31 days about one topic. 

To quote the famous Dr. Seuss, “If you never have, you should. These things are fun, and fun is good.”

How much fun is this going to be!?

Thanks for reading. Until tomorrow!
Sherri

One thought on “Day One – Freedom begins now

Leave a Reply

