Day 3 – Freedom to Face My Fears

This one theme could be an entire series just by itself. There are endless books and quotes and seminars on how to overcome fear. I’m guessing it’s among the top of topics in therapy sessions.

“There is nothing to fear but fear itself,” is a quote from Theodore Roosevelt. His wife Eleanor is credited, perhaps inaccurately, as saying, “Do one thing every day that scares you.” Interesting that these two were a couple isn’t it?

I read Noelle Hancock’s “My Year with Eleanor – A Memoir” this summer and it was inspiring. I won’t spoil it if you haven’t read it, but let’s just say the aforementioned quote has a little something to do with the story line.

What are my fears? What are yours? Do they need to be faced? Maybe some should just be left alone.

I think healthy fear is good. It can keep you from doing really dangerous or stupid or crazy things. What I find scary and stupid might be ordinary for you. We each have our own adrenaline thresholds. Mine is not all that high as I can truly get excited over a new ice cream flavor.

So far fear has kept me from doing some things, such as jumping out of an airplane, getting a tattoo and scuba diving. Those things are on my bucket list though they are all terrifying for different reasons. 

Both of my daughters want me to skydive with them. I personally know skydiving instructors who continually attempt to convince me that I will love it. 

The only reason I would do this is to prove to myself that I can. And so these crazy people will leave me alone. I did mention the part about terrifying, right?

One fear I am in the process of overcoming is traveling. Just recently I got my very first passport. I have not been outside the US other than a day excursion from a cruise to Cozumel and Nassau. Those were a little scary to be honest. 

I like my little safe comfort zone. And comfy it is. I get the language and the culture. I know my way around. I can read the signs. I know what to expect with food and beverage almost everywhere I go. It’s good. Sarasota has been my home for nearly 20 years. I like exploring but I want to feel safe. You know, like exploring the cute little stores downtown when the weather cools.

In just a few months I am taking my first trip abroad. I get to go to Israel! I am excited and freaked out all at the same time. Our church is taking a group of about 30, many of whom I know and love. What is there to be afraid of?

The unknown. 

Being away from my children. Being on a plane for many many hours. Eating weird food and sleeping in strange places. Not understanding language or culture. Feeling out of place. All the research in the world is not the same as experience.

How cool to visit the Holy Land? To walk where Jesus walked. To be in a boat on the sea of Galilee. Not the Holy Land theme park in Orlando with an off-the-chart cheese factor. I am hoping the actual Jerusalem will not have mirrored stalls in the restrooms. I wish I was kidding about that.

My younger daughter is designing my tattoo which I feel pretty good about. Skydiving will wait until she is out of high school, you know, in case the ‘chute doesn’t open and I fall to my death. No immediate plans on the deep sea diving. Let’s just calm down and tackle one thing at a time okay?

Now that I know where my life insurance papers are, I can double check that all of these upcoming adventures are covered. 

What good is life if I’m too afraid to leave my comfort zone and live it? What if I get to the end and realize I let my fears rob me of some really great things? THAT is something to be afraid of.

What fears will you face today?

Thanks for reading, until tomorrow!
Sherri

Leave a Reply

