Day 4- Freedom – to give


We all know that it’s better to give than to receive. I’m pretty sure Jesus told us this. Kids don’t necessarily get it. For them it’s all about the getting. Then maturity sets in and we see it differently.

I’m so mature that I bought Christmas presents in September. Who have I become? I hope I remember where said packages are when December rolls around.

Material gifts are easy. Make a budget and say hi there to Amazon. Enclose a note? Send as a gift? Boom, click, done.  

Other things are harder to give, like time.

It’s probably your most valuable commodity too. With only 24 hours each day, by the time you sleep, exercise, eat right, make the bed, floss, maintain the house, the car and the yard, tend to the littles and keep a job, it’s gone. Let’s not mention Youtube or Pinterest. Or blogging challenges.

My boss and his wife are some of the most efficient people I know. I don’t think they even know how to waste time. When I house-sat for them once, I discovered their time management secret.

They have clocks everywhere – in every single room and on the pool deck. There is no way that they accidentally kill an hour. Somehow the intentionality of watching the time makes it s-t-r-e-t-c-h.

Watch the clock sometime and see for your own self. As in the next boring meeting you’re stuck in. Or waiting for the microwave to heat up whatever leftovers you’re starving for.

Now you have a good strategy for maximizing your time. You’re welcome. Where do you spend this newly found time? How do you prioritize this most precious gift?

Seriously, I would love some help here. Did you think I was going to tell you?

That’s the thing. No one can tell us. We all have to figure it out for ourselves. There is no right or wrong, just what is right or wrong for me. And for you.

Maybe deciding what not to do is a good place to begin.

Working is one area that is so difficult for me to limit. I love my job and I could easily work 12 hours a day. But I don’t. I give my best, but I cannot give an unhealthy amount. I worked an extra 4 hours yesterday, so Thursday my vacation will start a half-day sooner. That works. It’s really up to me.

Time spent taking care of myself feels weird. This is a new freedom for me, and like anything, it takes considerable effort at first. I actually exercised for 30 days in a row! Not even kidding. (Then I took a day off and wrenched my back and all the old excuses are right where I left them.) Making and going to doctor’s appointments, setting up healthy routines, and spending time doing things that nourish my soul are ways that help me live well, so that I can GIVE well.

I’ll bet you thought I was getting off track. I’m still talking about giving. Here it is – I cannot give what I do not have. Neither can you. So when I invest my time wisely and take care of myself first, all the rest falls into place.

What are you giving? What keeps you from giving yourself to things that matter? How can you free yourself to give more of what counts?

Thanks for reading, until tomorrow!

Sherri
2 thoughts on “Day 4- Freedom – to give

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Sherri! I enjoyed this post, and it has inspired me to give better. I, too, can get so caught up in work. That's why I'm choosing to Cherish this year. Love your heart in this post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

