Day 23 – Freedom to trust

Today I spent time doing all kinds of things – some were planned, others not so much. Even with not making an appearance at the office or attending a class, I find myself JUST NOW sitting down to write today’s blog.

I was determined to watch the sunset from the beach tonight. It was basically a non-negotiable in my day. It’s really tough deciding which beach. After all, there are quite a few to choose from. It depends on whose company I am in. Or if I am solo. The distance can play a factor as well. It’s rough, I know!

My friend asked me to join her (and her man) at their local beach which is about a 40 minute drive from my house. I had time to make the drive, they are great fun, and the plan was put in motion. Corona, lime, twang and some cheese and crackers were the beach offerings. Chicken chili and a salad at her place after. Perfect!

I met them at the beach and it was spectacular. Peaceful, quiet and calm. No obnoxious tourists (sorry, some of them just are). It was glorious.

After the sky turned a hundred different colors, and it was almost too dark to walk back to the cars, we packed up our chairs. Her instructions were – just follow us – we know the back roads.

Let me just say that I have a pretty good sense of direction ok? I grew up in a rural area without street signs. I knew how to navigate by N-S-E-W fairly early. None of this “it’s on the left if you’re coming this direction” stuff. So I sort of pride myself on how to get around.

I am so very grateful that I did not lose sight of their vehicle guiding me. It was only a 15 minute drive but I’ll bet we made 27 turns. I had no idea if I was driving north, south, east or west. At times it felt like we were going in circles.

Early on I attempted to keep track but it wasn’t long before I just plain let it go. There was no point in trying to remember how many lefts or rights or names of streets. And I didn’t need to…

I decided to relax and follow the guy in front of me. Because he knew the way.

How often in my own life am I stressed out because I am trying so hard to figure out the path?

Too often. 

Why is it so stinkin’ difficult to trust? I mean, I’m talking about God here – the one who created everything and holds it all together? The one who loves me and wants what is best for me? The one who exists separately from time and has a beautiful plan for my life? 

Yeah, it’s hard to trust that one. I mean, it’s easier to trust in myself. After all, I have a proven record of wrong turns and bad choices.

Which doesn’t make any sense at all.

Thank you God, for a beautiful sunset, for great friends who bring twang to go with the Coronas, and for reminding me to just follow you. After all, you know the best way for me to go.

Thanks for reading, until tomorrow!
Sherri

Leave a Reply

