Ten for ten…

So this morning I successfully completed my tenth day in a row of a morning yoga practice. This has been a goal of mine for a long time, and I’m so very proud of my little self for setting my alarm and getting up early enough to squeeze it in.

My New Year’s Resolution was to begin a regular exercise routine. Of course my actual plans began on February 1 rather than the typical January 1 because of travel. I was being realistic y’all.

So if you do the math, you’ll notice it’s not Feb. 10th. Hmmm….

Because the first two weeks of February, I tried to make myself go to yoga class. I tried to make myself get up early and go for a walk. I tried – and I failed. It was pathetic.

When I was confessing this to my mentor, she made a revolutionary suggestion (lean in and I’ll share). She said, “Why don’t you just surrender that to God? You know, the whole exercise-and-eat-right-thing. Just ask God to help you desire that.”

WHAT?? Are you kidding me? Surrender it to God? Who ever heard of such a thing?!

Why in the world would God Almighty, the Maker of heaven and earth and all things, care one hoot about whether or not I get up early enough to do some down-dogs and eat a healthy breakfast? Shouldn’t he concern himself with big things like earthquakes and hurricanes and other global catastrophes? Certainly he should not be bothered with such minutia.

I don’t claim to understand why. But I know it’s true. He does care. And for the past ten days and counting, I have craved (mostly) healthy foods, drank ridiculous amounts of water and hit my mat each and every morning.

Only ten days in, and I feel stronger, more confident and more flexible. My mind has more clarity. My posture is better. And I haven’t gotten on a scale yet, but I know that if I continue this little regimen, I’ll fit into that gorgeous dress in time for my daughter’s graduation.

I’m just gonna be grateful here. The God I love and serve cares so much for me. He helps me manage even the basic routines of life in a way that is pleasing and good. It’s truly miraculous. I tend to think that God only cares about the big gigantic things. The ones that I really know I can’t do. But the whole “take care of yo’self” bit I should be accomplishing on my own, right?

Clearly that wasn’t happening. Until I gave up and gave it over to the one who can, and does. So even though I didn’t want to “bother” God with this little thing I needed, I did it anyway. I’m learning to accept what I cannot change, I’m changing the things I can, and asking for wisdom to know the difference. It’s really that simple.

So whatever you may be struggling with today, can I make a suggestion? Let it go. Ask God to help you, even if you think it’s silly. What have you got to lose? For me it’s just ten pounds by June. For you maybe it’s small too, like helping keep the laundry under control, or making a decent meal for you (and your people). He’s there on the small mundane levels as much as the lofty ones. He’s not too busy, and it’s never too hard.

Give it up. Let it go. Let him move you!

Thanks for reading, until next time,
Sherri

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ten for ten…

Leave a Reply

