It’s almost over folks…

So the election is tomorrow and I’m feeling disappointed.

In the whole political process. In the main party candidates. In people fighting over who is better – or the least awful – to choose from. It’s sad to see people behaving so poorly over a difference of opinion.

I’m mainly feeling disappointed in myself for not caring as much as I should.

I don’t consider myself an activist on the national or even local level. I mean, we have representatives to run the county and state and federal governments. And they are supposed to listen to us – the constituents. Honestly, I’m all busy over here trying to keep my own act together. That’s lame, but I think it’s true for most of us.

It boils down to this: I alwaimg_1936ys make it to the polls, and it’s my privilege and my responsibility as a citizen to pay attention and vote intelligently.

Now that I’m looking at an actual deadline (thank you so much for almost being over) – I perused the available information on the candidates up for hire. And I double checked the location and times for my precinct (I moved, remember?).

The big disappointment came when my youngest daughter, now 18, and I were chatting about this the other day. The sample ballot in the mail prompted my question. It went like this:

Me: “Hey, did you register to vote?”
Daughter: “No, I’m not doing that.”
Me: “Really? Why not?”
Daughter: “There’s no point.”
Me: …..

What could I say? She has been in the throws of government classes for the last few years. She knows that we are privileged to have the right to vote. She knows the history. Women were denied the right to vote until 1920, less than 100 years ago. This child has expressed interest in pursuing a career in the legal field, and could very well end up on a ballot herself one day. It’s kind of a big deal for her to decide NOT to vote.

This is the very first year she is eligible, and she is disenchanted enough to not even bother to register. My lack of enthusiasm for politics and the whole giant mess has obviously been passed right along to my offspring. I feel so unpatriotic.

So I can blame it on the media, or the dismal choices of our candidates, or my lack of interest. Either way, this is where we’ve landed at our house.

Like my friend Susan said today, “If you don’t vote, you can’t bitch about it later.”

I like the example Jesus set when it came to politics. He stayed out of it, and talked about the Kingdom of God, and loving our neighbors. So I vote that we all focus on that, and not worry so much about what tomorrow will bring. Because no matter who lands in the winner’s column, I’m going to be okay. And so are you. And so are we all.

Thanks for reading, until next time,
Sherri

2 thoughts on “It’s almost over folks…

  1. I have very similar thoughts. I don’t engage much with politics in general, but the privilege to vote was too dearly bought to not use it. But ultimately lasting change only comes about by knowing God and obeying His Word.

    Like

Leave a Reply

