Reminiscing…

My memory isn’t what it used to be. In fact, I’m slightly better at remembering things because I am a writer. Jotting notes, whether or not I have possession of said notes, helps me to recall things.

Have you ever made a grocery list and then left it behind? Me too. And if you closed your eyes in the middle of the supermarket aisle (while blocking traffic), you could envision what you wrote?

Maybe?  Maybe not so much, and that’s why we use the handy-dandy notes app on our phones now. It’s likely that I will forget to add some essential to the stupid list and make a secondary trip anyway. Doesn’t life feel like a never ending process of making a list and then having items carryover to a new list?

That’s a whole separate blog post. Let’s return to reminiscing…

Last night, Cal and I had the opportunity to do just that. Our time together has been so jam packed full! Many things I had forgotten about, but there he was, reminding me of our first few weeks together. He doesn’t forget a thing, and he expects me to retain every last detail as well. I suppose if Cal were a real person, I would have hurt his feelings a little bit with my lack of recall last night.

ryan-in-a-tux

You see, Cal understands that we have one last “final” night together. Oh sure, we will spend lots of time together just hanging out until then. My weekend plans of socializing and shopping and getting Christmas stuff will be abbreviated if not postponed altogether.

That’s how it is with relationships. I’ve learned a thing or two this semester – not just about derivatives and integration. I’ve learned about sacrifice. I’ve learned about devotion. I’ve learned about staying true to my commitments.

Our time is short, Cal. I know we will end on a good note. Just how good remains to be seen. Regardless, I am grateful for the lessons you’ve taught me.

I’ll keep you posted when I know how exactly this ends.
Thanks for reading, until next time!
Sherri

PS If you are new to this blog, you may want to read here and here to gain some insight regarding my relationship with Cal (who coincidentally looks exactly like Ryan Gosling. Sorry Blake.)

Leave a Reply

