Hey 2016 – thanks!

This is a perfect post for the last week of December. Guess what? It’s my blog and I assign my own deadlines and this one wasn’t ready til now. So I’ll take a B-. Whatever. I believe New Year’s can be a season just like Christmas and we can let it linger a bit. Tell me you agree. farewell-2016

Here’s what I realized as the year came to a close. A long road trip gave me time to reflect, but no time to write. These words have been marinating a little longer than usual.

I faced a hella lot of fear last year. Here’s a chronicle of the intimidating things I conquered:

  • Traveling overseas to Israel (1st passport, 1st page, 1st stamp!)
  • Dealing with BIG tribulations at work (if you must read, it’s here and here)
  • Got a tattoo (it’s fairly large and you can see it here)
  • Traipsed around NYC with my kids for several days
  • Attended my high school reunion (read more about that here)
  • Went skydiving (involving insanity and 2 posts – here and here)
  • Got an A in Applied Calculus

Do you see all that scary stuff? I know some people come up with their “word for the year” or their “theme” ahead of time. They declare it right up front and then somehow the year lines up accordingly. It’s no surprise that I’ve got it ass backwards. I didn’t know I was going to do all this shit. It just kind of happened, one thing after the other.

When I reached December and landed an A in the very class I was terrified to take, I thought, “What the hell could possibly frighten me at this point?”

So this got added to the list…

  • Online dating

Yep, I did it. I made a profile. I am now a part of the whole “swipe left” club. And I’m sharing it with all of you (lucky people). It’s a wacky world out there, and I’m vacillating between amused and horrified. I’m trying to appreciate the process and not let my cynicism grow even larger. I’m maneuvering around and meeting new people and discovering a lot along the way, mainly about myself. It’s not that I have some deep longing to be involved or even wined-and-dined, I just didn’t want to be afraid of dating. Not after facing down all the other formidable things that 2016 brought my way.

free-online-dating-642x300

If nothing else, this experience is sure to make for some interesting posts. Of course I’ll change the names or use initials or something. At least I am no longer dating a math class (see ya later Al and Cal) and have moved on to real people. I think. I hope. Details to come.

So hey, 2016, you showed me that I really do have courage. Thanks for the memories. Bring it on 2017 – I’m not afraid of anything you hold. In fact, I’m excited to see where you’ll take me 🙂

Thanks for reading, until next time!
Sherri

Leave a Reply

