Guess what…

This is a game my grandson plays with everyone. The story goes that I’m the one who started this, but I’m not entirely sure that’s true.

It goes like this.

Ellix: Guess what?

Me: What?

Ellix: Chicken butt! Hahahahaha….

Me: Oh you got me!

There are various versions of this. Sometimes it’s chicken nuggets, chicken poop, chicken biscuits, etc.

Lately it’s been on constant repeat and he is mostly ignored because he chooses chicken butt like 98% of the time. It does get old.

Other times it totally turns and goes like this:

Ellix: Guess what?

Me: What?

Ellix: I love you.

Me: Awwww baby I love you too!

He always says it super sweetly too. I’m not doubting he knows what it means; he definitely knows how it makes the recipient feel. There’s so much wonderful energy with him.

I know he will turn into a smelly sassy teen one day, but this precious time with him is almost more than I can bear.

And also, please stop repeating that endlessly. It’s bedtime! He’s so fun and silly and noisy and messy and also tiring. There’s a reason we have kids when we are young. Whew!

What did I learn today? To be careful about what I teach this young man. He’s absorbing every drop. And repeating it ad nauseam.

Bonus: I learned how to spell ad nauseam.

Thanks for reading, until next time,

Sherri

Leave a comment